June 8, 2015- Henrico, VA
Last week, 38 year old Jaime Salazar was arrested for drunk driving just two years after a previous DUI conviction.
In addition to the DUI charges, NBC12 reports that Salazar also faces two counts of child neglect, as her children were in the car with her at the time of arrest.
NBC12 first reported on Salazar back in 2013, when she was arrested on charges of running over two women in the West End, just weeks after another DUI arrest.
According to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers are legally considered to be under the influence (DUI) where the blood alcohol content (BAC) of the driver is 0.08 percent or higher. Drivers may be considered under the influence with a lower BAC if their ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired.
Any DUI offense will be reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange by law enforcement at the time of arrest. In other words, drivers can end up with a criminal record because of a DUI arrest alone.
In Virginia, first offenders convicted of DUI face a mandatory minimum fine of $250.00 and revocation of their driver’s license for one year.
Conviction of a second DUI offense generally carries a mandatory minimum fine of $500.00 and revocation of one’s driver’s license for three years, as well as a possible jail term of up to one year. If a second DUI conviction occurs within ten years of the prior offense, drivers face an additional penalty of a mandatory minimum ten-day jail term. Second offenders who re-commit within five years face an additional penalty of a mandatory minimum twenty-day jail term.